Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Chopin Nocturne in E minor Op 72 (video) Stage Recital  (Read 4089 times)

Offline totallyclassics

• PS Silver Member
This is by far one of my favorite pieces......I have been playing it off and on for the last 2 years of my 4 years in piano!   It is very special to me for many reasons, and Chopin is one of my favorite composers!  I LOVE the romantic period.....

Please critique openly and honestly.......I will start by saying this is only my 3rd recital, and that this is the first recital I decided to perform 4 pieces in......a mistake!  I am not mature enough in my musical focus for my level of playing to successfully pull of a 4 piece recital!!   However, having said this, I am not disappointed that I tried it, just disappointed that it didn't work out as planned!!     My pieces, especially this one came out a bit rushed, and the breaths between phrases were at best,..... weak..... I learned that unplanned things happen when we get on stage!   The natural subtleties that I  so easily emote and that occur in the safety of my living room, didn't occur on stage!  My goal is to get the two closer together!! 

I hope you enjoy, please feel free to comment.... ;D

Offline gyzzzmo

• PS Silver Member
Re: Chopin Nocturne in E minor Op 72 (video) Stage Recital
Reply #1 on: May 15, 2008, 07:29:05 AM
Maybe its the edition you used, but i heard quite alot of mistakes in especially the left hand, and some in the right, at places wich arent technically that hard.
I think you should have a look that, because its quite a pity since the rest of your performance sounded great :)