Piano Forum

New Book: Women and the Piano by Susan Tomes
Susan Tomes' latest book is a captivating and thought-provoking exploration of women pianists’ history, praised for its engaging storytelling, thorough research, and insightful analysis. The book combines historical narrative with Tomes' personal insights as a performing female pianist. Read more >>

Topic: gaspard de la nuit  (Read 6174 times)

Offline bannatyne

• PS Silver Member
gaspard de la nuit
on: May 22, 2004, 08:39:00 AM
I'm in my last year at conservatorium before studying abroad and for my final recital exam i'm playing "gaspard de la nuit' by ravel.  Has anyone else played this piece?  if so, how the f#$@ do you get throught scarbo without geting completly overwhelmed, mostly I think i'd just like some sympathy for having the kind of teacher who would inflict this kind of piece on their student.
so,.. either tips or sympathy would be nice.
thanks.

Offline JeffL

• PS Silver Member
Re: gaspard de la nuit
Reply #1 on: May 22, 2004, 06:02:23 PM
Sympathy, for having a teacher who gives a pupil  such an assignment and leaves his/her student feeling so desperate that they have to resort to an internet forum for tips. Surely, if you have reached the sort of standard which allows you to attempt Gaspard you ought to have acquired plenty of practice methods which should help you to deal with its difficulties.
If you feel completely overwhelmed by a piece the best advice would be not to play it.

f0bul0us

Reply #2 on: May 22, 2004, 08:20:45 PM
Sympathy, for having a teacher who gives a pupil  such an assignment and leaves his/her student feeling so desperate that they have to resort to an internet forum for tips. Surely, if you have reached the sort of standard which allows you to attempt Gaspard you ought to have acquired plenty of practice methods which should help you to deal with its difficulties.
If you feel completely overwhelmed by a piece the best advice would be not to play it.