Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: An chopin or a Liszt etude?  (Read 3707 times)

Offline njalli

• PS Silver Member
An chopin or a Liszt etude?
on: February 14, 2009, 05:39:44 PM
Hello im 14.. allmost 15 years old. i have been playing for 4 years and im playing the 3rd movement from mozart sonata K. 330 and now im going to play soon the 1st movement.

But.. lets get to the point :P
There is a piano competition that is held every 3 years. And the requirements for age 15-18 are:

first part of a piano sonata
an virtuoso etude composed by liszt or chopin
a romantic piece
a piano piece of choise
and i think that that is all. My teacher thinks that i could compete now or in 3 years. if i compete now would make it harder to win because the chopin and liszt etudes are hard. instead of competing this year and again in 3 years i could just compete after three years

my teacher sayd today that she will try to find a manegeable etude for me to play if she finds one.

any suggestions for a etude to play?

--------------

Njall

-------------

Beethovens last sonata no 32, op 111 is the best of his sonatas!

Offline go12_3

• PS Silver Member
Re: An chopin or a Liszt etude?
Reply #1 on: February 14, 2009, 06:00:14 PM
How about etude op25 no. 8?   I learned it as a student.  A real nice piece to play for competition.  good luck and best wishes  :)
Yesterday was the day that passed,
Today is the day I live and love,Tomorrow is day of hope and promises...

Offline njalli

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: February 14, 2009, 06:07:53 PM
How about etude op25 no. 8?   I learned it as a student.  A real nice piece to play for competition.  good luck and best wishes  :)