Piano Forum

Topic: Is weight lifting/bodybuilding bad?  (Read 13886 times)

Offline punkpianist360

• PS Silver Member
Is weight lifting/bodybuilding bad?
on: October 30, 2010, 03:58:46 AM
My teacher said today that I should stop cause I am getting too strong and playing harsher.  The thing is, I've had that tendency before I started lifting weights, but still improving on that.  From what he said, it's opened my eyes a lot and am being more cautious about my f's and ff's.  Anyways, what is the forum's opinion on weightlifting?
Inspire, be Inspired, and Aspire.

https://www.musicbymyles.com

Offline stevebob

• PS Silver Member
Re: Is weight lifting/bodybuilding bad?
Reply #1 on: October 30, 2010, 04:05:00 AM
Your teacher is misinformed.  Gaining greater overall muscle mass and strength should have no effect on motor skills.
What passes you ain't for you.

Offline birba

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: October 30, 2010, 08:35:19 AM
Does anyone remember the name of that japanese muscle builder on youtube who plays classical piano?  You should check him out.  Stevebob is right.  Muscle mass has nothing to do with motor skills.

Offline thalbergmad

• PS Silver Member
Reply #3 on: October 30, 2010, 11:20:39 AM
It seems to be the opinion of the misinformed that building muscle causes one to do everything "harder" and bodybuilders are musclebound hunks with little control who can easily crush a baby to death in their arms by accident. I find this to be horseshit.

Many bodybuilders learn dance and ballet in order to give them greater control and more effect when posing. Bodybuilding helps to increase flexibility and is excellent for the body, unless taken to extremes.

The only problem i ever had mixing piano with bodybuilding, was an inability to play within 4 hours of a good workout.

Thal
Curator/Director
Concerto Preservation Society

Offline ted

• PS Silver Member
Reply #4 on: October 31, 2010, 04:04:52 AM