Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: Fairly new teacher needs advice  (Read 2412 times)

Offline lalag

• PS Silver Member
Fairly new teacher needs advice
on: November 21, 2010, 07:09:24 AM
Hi all,

I'm a fairly new piano teacher, and I have five young students and one teenage student.  One of my young ones, a 7-year-old girl, came to me because her mother didn't like the fact that she's been taking piano for a year now and still cannot read music.  She actually plays from memory very well, has excellent hand position and almost perfect rhythm, but indeed she cannot read music.

I have been working with her on this for about two months now, and just today during her lesson I was surprised when she had trouble telling me whether the notes on the page were going up or going down.  I went over and over it and wasn't getting through to her.  Because I was insisting that she look at the music during the part where she would play going down instead of up, she moved closer and put her face about five inches away from the book.  But by then she couldn't play 'cause she was so close to the piano. 

It dawned on me that she might have trouble with her eyesight.  And so I asked her a few questions, when she looks at the music what does she see, can she read the words, does she see the lines on the staff?  All of these questions, the answer was no.  I had her move her head closer and asked if she could see the words, the notes, the lines.  The answer was yes.  I took my glasses off and said that I couldn't read them either unless I wear my glasses.  Then I said that maybe she needs to have her eyes checked and that I would let her dad know.