Piano Forum

Topic: Chopin Etude Op. 10 No. 1  (Read 12827 times)

Offline utterlysneaky

• PS Silver Member
Chopin Etude Op. 10 No. 1
on: February 23, 2011, 05:39:12 PM
Ok this is an old recording of mine, in the sense that I recorded it onto my clavinova in 2005 if I remember correctly, and I wanted to make an mp3 out of it now to see what it sounds like.
This etude is allways a work under progress for me, so any constructive critiscism is welcome.
One thing I've allways tried to do with this etude is to make music out of it, not simply just play high speed arpeggios, so I'm aware my playing is not exactly following score. I'm contemplating playing this at a church recital due in two months here where I live, but I just don't know if I can get it back in shape until then, haven't touched this etude since last summer now..But all in all this was the second piece I started learning 16 years ago(call me crazy), so it's kinda "my etude" :) Maybe I should just start practising again....

Offline pianisten1989

• PS Silver Member
Re: Chopin Etude Op. 10 No. 1
Reply #1 on: February 23, 2011, 06:24:46 PM
Hmm... I understand you try to make music, but don't overdo it. I don't think this is very musically played (I'm sure someone else might), I think it's kind of... If there is a possibility to make a  rubato in every second bar doesn't mean you should. Right now, you're laughing Chopin right in the face, and saying that you're better than he is. Some pieces are meant to be played with rubato, some are meant to be played very rhythmically. So rubato isn't always the way to make music. You can pick a few spots where you do slight rubato, but this is way to much.

And what's up with the accents? I don't see any pattern at all, but just some random notes trying to make a line.
Again, Chopin wrote his own accents, they are just fine!

Offline utterlysneaky

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: February 23, 2011, 06:52:11 PM