Piano Forum

Enfant Terrible or Childishly Innocent? – Prokofiev’s Complete Piano Works Now on Piano Street
In our ongoing quest to provide you with a complete library of classical piano sheet music, the works of Sergey Prokofiev have been our most recent focus. As one of the most distinctive and original musical voices from the first half of the 20th century, Prokofiev has an obvious spot on the list of top piano composers. Welcome to the intense, humorous, and lyrical universe of his complete Sonatas, Concertos, character pieces, and transcriptions! Read more >>

Topic: Rachmaninoff Piano concerto no 2  (Read 40827 times)

Offline chopinaninoff

• PS Silver Member
Rachmaninoff Piano concerto no 2
on: May 05, 2011, 04:11:54 AM
Hello,
I'm new to this forum. I am not a professional pianist, I am still studying in school. I know this will sound like an extremely idiotic request as well as question to the top concert pianists...But I was asked by my school orchestra conductor to learn the first movement of Rachmaninoff 2nd...Now I have not played a long time, my technique is as advanced as I would like it to be..but this is one of my most favorite pieces ever. And I would love the the honor and privilege of learning it = and performing it with an orchestra, even if its no where close to perfect. So..I ask all of you professional musicians for help on this. Help in the sense that I need to know how to learn it, and make sure that it would be reliable to perform with. If I do decide to learn it, I will have 3-4 months to learn the first movement. So I would like to know..(please be as detailed as possible)
1. From the moment I open the cover of the concerto, how do I begin learning it?
2. How do I know that the way I am counting, will synchronize with the orchestra? After all, this is a romantic concerto, filled with rubatos.
3. The first few pages, have a lot of arpeggios... How do I count them? As triplets? In groups of 8? 9? etc.