Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Piano lesson charge  (Read 8004 times)

Offline chenwu

• PS Silver Member
Piano lesson charge
on: June 06, 2011, 09:12:30 PM
Hello all! I am a new piano teacher and i have questions to ask for you guys. I do have a Bachelor degree of Music and had taken piano pedagogy seminar for 3 years. I am
thinking to charge my students $15/30 min and $25/hour. Now, if I do lessons to my students home, Would it be reasonable if i add $5 per week for the transportation? i need your advice and suggestions please. thank you.

Offline spencervirt

• PS Silver Member
Re: Piano lesson charge
Reply #1 on: June 06, 2011, 09:59:00 PM
I don't know where you live, but in California you would never find a qualified piano teacher for that low. I pay $60 per hour and that is the lowest you will find for a good teacher here. You can find $40 per hour but those teachers mostly work with really little kids.

Offline quantum

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: June 07, 2011, 03:22:07 AM
In Canada, $25 per hour is something you may expect from a university student.  Most private teachers with a Bachelors in Music charge $50+ per hour.  People with graduate and doctoral degrees charge more.  Those with lots of experience can charge $100+ per hour - yes there are students willing to pay for this!  

Personally, I charge extra to give lessons at a student's home.  As well there is an extra travel and time charges if the lessons are outside certain municipal boundaries.  

The following person writes about the business end of teaching.  I would recommend reading through many of these articles:
https://users.datarealm.com/marbeth/perils.html