Piano Forum

“Piano Dreams” - Exploring the Chinese Piano Explosion
The motivations for learning the piano are diverse, ranging from personal enjoyment to cultural appreciation and professional aspirations. While some see it as a way to connect with cultural heritage, others pursue it as a path to fame and fortune. In the movie “Piano Dreams” director Gary Lennon documents the struggles and sacrifices of three wannabe piano stars in modern China. Read more >>

Topic: What is wrong with Kissin's La Campanella?  (Read 11630 times)

Offline jzp93

• PS Silver Member
What is wrong with Kissin's La Campanella?
on: July 03, 2011, 03:48:45 AM
I'm not a professional but I thought it's beautiful and very expressive.
So I dont get it why people criticize him so much and say he doesn't play with emotion.
I can hear the emotion in his music. Maybe I'm deaf? I saw others play it including Yundi Li
but I like Kissin's the most. The mistakes...it was an encore and he's probably tired? With his sweat all over the piano the keys are slippery? Anyway, dont concert pianist make mistakes?
I just dont understand why he's criticised so much when all his concerts are sold out.

Offline scott13

• PS Silver Member
Re: What is wrong with Kissin's La Campanella?
Reply #1 on: July 03, 2011, 09:35:44 AM
The youtube comments section should be disabled on classical performances. To often the ignorant leap to assert their "correct" view and normally it is never backed up by substance. Bottom line don't read to much into these (pun intended) and base your opinion of a performer on how well and how emotively you think he plays.

Offline gerryjay

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: July 03, 2011, 08:14:57 PM
Dear JZP,