Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: I am going to Play for a Third-Grade Class  (Read 2005 times)

Offline thomas_williams

• PS Silver Member
I am going to Play for a Third-Grade Class
on: September 28, 2004, 05:31:23 AM
I was recently asked by a local music teacher to come play for her class of third-graders.  It sounds like it could be fun and I told her I would do it, but I have never done anything quite like this before.  I would like some input on how to make it fun and interesting for the children, and any other general information.

My ideas are along these lines:
Try to make the session interactive.
Tell the students a story about a piece (e. g., Rachmaninoff's C-sharp Minor Prelude), or briefly talk about a musical form (e. g., prelude and fugue) or a composer
Ask the students about the pictures they saw in their imagination while listening to the music

Music I might play would be:

Bach: Inventions or a Little Prelude and Fugue
Beethoven: A movement from Sonata in C minor, Op. 10, No. 1
Brahms: Sarabande and Gavotte in A Minor
Liszt: Sposalizio
Rachmaninoff: Prelude in C-sharp Minor
Kent Kennan: Three Preludes

If you have advice or suggestions regarding any of this I would be glad to hear from you on it.
It's GREAT to be a classical musician!

Offline timothy42b

• PS Silver Member
Re: I am going to Play for a Third-Grade Class
Reply #1 on: September 28, 2004, 12:05:24 PM