Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: Bohemian Rhapsody  (Read 5086 times)

Offline henrikhank

• PS Silver Member
Bohemian Rhapsody
on: September 21, 2012, 03:52:28 PM
I'm just learning Bohemian Rhapsody and I've read this:

"Even though B flat is very dominant, the first chord could be said to be Gm7 which would give rise
to the sequence Gm7–C7–F7–B flat, where C7 is an altered version of ii7 acting as V7 of F
(secondary dominant). The progression adds strength to the opening and increases the sense of
drama and tension."
What does "ii7 acting as V7 of F" mean?

https://www.ppmta.ie/Resources/All_Set_Works/Bohemian_Rhaps.pdf

Offline zezhyrule

• PS Silver Member
Re: Bohemian Rhapsody
Reply #1 on: September 21, 2012, 05:04:28 PM
V7 of F Major is C7, so it's saying that the II7 chord is leading to the dominant 7th, which then resolves to the tonic? I think?  :-X
Currently learning -

- Bach: P&F in F Minor (WTC 2)
- Chopin: Etude, Op. 25, No. 5
- Beethoven: Sonata, Op. 31, No. 3
- Scriabin: Two Poems, Op. 32
- Debussy: Prelude Bk II No. 3

Offline nystul

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: September 21, 2012, 05:36:06 PM
V7 of F Major is C7, so it's saying that the II7 chord is leading to the dominant 7th, which then resolves to the tonic? I think?  :-X

Yeah, that's pretty much it.

We are in Bb major, which has this scale: Bb C D Eb F G A Bb.