Piano Forum

Topic: C Minor Pentatonic Improv  (Read 11285 times)

Offline pure1108

• PS Silver Member
C Minor Pentatonic Improv
on: November 22, 2012, 01:59:59 PM
Something I've always wondered, as a self taught pianist -

When you're playing a Cm to F7 to G progression, and improvising using C minor pentatonic, should you change the notes when you changed chords or should you just keep playing the notes of the c minor pentatonic scale while you played F7 and G?

Thanks!

Offline dcstudio

• PS Silver Member
Re: C Minor Pentatonic Improv
Reply #1 on: December 06, 2012, 01:20:08 PM
should or should not-- ahhh it's improv...do what sounds nice.

Why don't you try playing Eb..F..F#..G Bb (B--add this if you  on the G chord) C--try that over Cmin and then over G--the trick is to play them together as a run.

over the F7--  try descending from C-B-Bb-(A)-Ab-G-F-Eb...that makes a nice sprawling 3 octave run if ya play it quickly.   Use a shell voicing of Eb A D--in your left hand (or C instead of D--if the 13th is too harsh sounding.)

over the G--this is just a triad? no extensions?  than feel free to add some.  Since you just played F7--we can assume or adjust that to be a G7--or 9--or 11 if you feel like it. try arpeggiating the chord with some additions--  like G..Bb..B..C..D..F..A (then descend)--Ab--G--and so on.

self-taught improv is rare on this site--as are self-taught pianists.  most of these folks are trying for concert pianist status...and some here will succeed. 

best of luck!  send me a mp3 of what it sounds like :)

Offline ajspiano

• PS Silver Member
Re: C Minor Pentatonic Improv
Reply #2 on: December 06, 2012, 11:08:46 PM
Something I've always wondered, as a self taught pianist -

When you're playing a Cm to F7 to G progression, and improvising using C minor pentatonic, should you change the notes when you changed chords or should you just keep playing the notes of the c minor pentatonic scale while you played F7 and G?

Thanks!