Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: Best Mobile Keyboard with 88 keys for classical music ??  (Read 2604 times)

Offline freddythefred

• PS Silver Member
Hello, I'm an advanced classical piano student and I also play blues and jazz with bands. So I want a mobile keyboard that lets me both practice my classical music with a good touch feeling and also lets me take it anywhere I want.

So I slimply need a mobile keyboard with 88 keys that imitates the feeling of a real piano.

Do you have any ideas of good keyboards ? Which manufacturer is the best ? Yamaha, kurzweil, casio .... ?? Any specific models ??

Thank you  ;D

Offline hfmadopter

• PS Silver Member
Re: Best Mobile Keyboard with 88 keys for classical music ??
Reply #1 on: November 27, 2013, 10:11:46 PM

Do you have any ideas of good keyboards ? Which manufacturer is the best ? Yamaha, kurzweil, casio .... ?? Any specific models ??

Thank you  ;D

Really, add Kawai and Roland to the list you have and go try them all out. Keep in mind what you need for connections for live stage use ( Line out TRS, XLR etc. etc.). Only you can determine what action and board features are for you. Can't stress trying them out enough, do not go by internet suggestions alone !

Edit: Incidentally I do play some classical on my Kawai MP6 stage piano, though I would love to have tried out an MP10 with it's wooden key cores ( one wasn't available to me at the time). The best stage piano I tried, even closer to my grand piano in action than my Kawai is, was the Roland RD700NX. This in terms of the feel of the keys.