Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: piano HELP  (Read 1530 times)

Offline mdog2121

piano HELP
on: December 20, 2013, 10:12:18 PM
I'm a new pianist and am trying to get my first piano can someone tell me what this chickering piano is worth.       https://tallahassee.craigslist.org/msg/4220970371.html               

Offline Bob

• PS Silver Member
Re: piano HELP
Reply #1 on: December 20, 2013, 10:48:23 PM
Looks like a typical old upright.  I recognize Chikering as a brand.  That's better than pianos with no name.  Keys are intact.

Get someone who plays piano to try it and get their opinion. 

Best case -- It's an ok starter instrument.  Not great, not crap.

Worst case -- It will give you a bad experience.  Won't hold tuning -- Will sound bad or you'll pay the tuner a lot.  Sound and feel will turn you off.  Keys might be stiff.

If I was actually looking for something I'm not sure how much I'd pay for it.  $100?  I'm curious what they would ask for it.  If they asked for a $1,000, I'd think they were nuts and I'd go buy a Yamaha upright for that (I think).
Favorite new teacher quote -- "You found the only possible wrong answer."

Offline hfmadopter

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: December 20, 2013, 11:04:09 PM
Chickering is a good name in piano and it says $100 in the add. From the photos it doesn't look beat up which may or may not mean a whole lot but it's better than a beat up one from the get go. You need to know about it mechanically, open the lid and show us some photos from inside, do hammers hit the strings and return to position etc. Are the keys sticking when you depress them ?