Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: How do we get people to listen to classical music  (Read 3368 times)

Offline xxhottie88xx

I studied piano performance in uni and I have stopped playing for a year or so, I felt like my music had hit a wall, my life had hit a wall so I took a backpack and I left home to another city. Now that I am much more calm at a new place I feel like we need a lot more audience among the younger generation. It is really sad that pop and spotify is totally taking over the classical music art form ... Maybe we can brainstorm here how do we get more young people to attend classical concerts? My photographer friend had recommended me that sex sells ... But our professors are totally against that ... What should we do???

Offline outin

• PS Silver Member
Re: How do we get people to listen to classical music
Reply #1 on: June 20, 2014, 03:54:42 AM
I studied piano performance in uni and I have stopped playing for a year or so, I felt like my music had hit a wall, my life had hit a wall so I took a backpack and I left home to another city. Now that I am much more calm at a new place I feel like we need a lot more audience among the younger generation. It is really sad that pop and spotify is totally taking over the classical music apart form ... Maybe we can brainstorm here how do we get more young people to attend classical concerts? My photographer friend had recommended me that sex sells ... But our professors are totally against that ... What should we do???