Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Rate me!  (Read 1714 times)

Offline hiimmarc

Rate me!
on: August 19, 2014, 10:12:32 AM
Hi,

I just joined the pianostreetforum and I hope my question can be answered here.

So, I wanted to know if you can tell me how good I am on playing the piano. My friends and family are not playing the piano so I have no clue on what level I am.

I've been playing for 6 years now, on a Yahama CLP 230 (not an acoustic piano). I practise like 3 times a week, about half an hour each. I guess that's not much?  :-\
I mostly play pieces  by Chopin, i played most of his waltz, at the moment i play fantasie impromptu by Chopin. I really enjoy playing the piano and when i show some people a few pieces, they mostly say it's great and played with a lot of emotion. But because im afraid of playing the piano in public and hardly do it,  I cannot really classify what they are saying. Because they won't say it's bad right?

Maybe you can tell me on what level I am and then I can possibly persuade my parents to get a acoustic piano. That would be a dream.  :)

Offline outin

• PS Silver Member
Re: Rate me!
Reply #1 on: August 19, 2014, 10:32:56 AM
For us to know how good you are, we should hear you play, don't you agree?

But if you have already spent so much time and committed to regularly practicing the piano it is definitely worth it to get an acoustic piano and a good teacher. How to convince your parents is another matter...

Offline lostinidlewonder

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: August 19, 2014, 11:33:50 AM