Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: Grand piano rec's for my budget please  (Read 7663 times)

Offline sandracb

• PS Silver Member
Grand piano rec's for my budget please
on: September 02, 2015, 02:54:37 PM
hi all,

I would like to ask for some recommendations for what sort of grand piano I should consider for my needs. We are considering a purchase in the next 1-2 years.

I am an advanced student, currently pursuing my ARCT and probably the LCRM after that. I play around 6hrs +/- a day. My piano space is my front living room, which only measures 10x13ft but it is open concept and attaches into the dining room area which is another 11x13, so basically a long rectangular open concept space of a total 20x13 approx. This area opens into the rest of the house so there's no enclosement at all. The living room section has a vaulted cathedral ceiling 2 storeys high. I have wood floors but a lot of rugs/soft furnishings in the space.

Because of exam requirements, I will be playing a huge variety of genres so I need something that will work for everything from Prokofiev to Bach. I also enjoy noodling around with jazz standards and pop/rock for fun.