Piano Forum

Topic: Piano teacher wants son to skip up a level  (Read 2319 times)

Offline lauraloves2run

Piano teacher wants son to skip up a level
on: September 30, 2015, 07:35:45 PM
This question is for piano teachers...My son and I both take lessons from the same teacher.  He's one of the best pianists I've ever heard and is really kind to both my son and I.  He definitely has more adult students than he does children though. Recently, he told me he wanted to not finish level one of Faber and Faber Piano Adventures with my 7 year old and move him up to level 2.  He's almost done with the lesson book but is farther behind in all of the other books.  I'm concerned that skipping ahead will create holes in my son's learning and my first thoughts were to insist that the teacher finish level one of all the books with him.  I know our teacher has a lot more piano experience than me, but I was an elementary school teacher and don't want my son to miss important concepts.  Just hoping other teachers might give their opinion on this issue...I'm willing to change my opinion with further understanding.  My son is bright, (he reads two levels above his grade level,) but he's not a child prodigy by any means.  Thanks!

Offline sabtan

Re: Piano teacher wants son to skip up a level
Reply #1 on: October 01, 2015, 10:20:18 AM
Hi,

I am not writing as a piano teacher but as an amateur pianist who has skipped grades when I was young and also did fairly well in grade exams. In the Asia Pacific part of the world, most students go by grade exams, either by the Royal College of Music (UK) or Trinity college (UK). I had skipped a few exam levels and finished grade 8 when I was 11 or 12 (with distinction)

If you feel that the teacher isn't having his best interest at heart by encouraging skipping, then you are most welcomed to switch teachers. Granted, it's only 1 book that he's recommended skipping so maybe he feels the child is capable going through the next level.