Piano Forum

Master Teacher Christopher Elton – Never Ending Impetus
With 50 years at the Royal Academy of Music and an international teaching career, Professor Christopher Elton has gained unique experience in how to coach accomplished artists. In this unique interview for Piano Street, Elton shares his insights and views on the big perspective. Read more >>

Topic: All-Chopin repertoire  (Read 4838 times)

Offline alice_park

All-Chopin repertoire
on: February 07, 2016, 10:20:45 AM
I am an amateur pianist and has a wide playlist of Chopin's works. I want to study more of his works and wanted to come up with an all-chopin repertoire. If I can rate my skill level, I know I can manage Up to level 8 piece (if it meant 8/10).
For now, I only have Waltz Op. 64, No 2 and Ballade No. 1 in G minor. What else could I put here? I want pieces like those I have mentioned. I also want moving, some popular, or maybe fast and relaxing pieces.
Gm Ballade

Offline adodd81802

• PS Silver Member
Re: All-Chopin repertoire
Reply #1 on: February 07, 2016, 10:42:03 AM
"England is a country of pianos, they are everywhere."

Offline alice_park

Reply #2 on: February 07, 2016, 02:46:30 PM
I plan on making a repertoire containing one of each genre. I am just asking for opinions from fellow pianists :)
Gm Ballade

Offline jimroof

Reply #3 on: February 07, 2016, 08:58:09 PM
Try adding either the 2nd or 3rd Scherzo.  The 2nd is easier than the 3rd Scherzo and both are less difficult than the Gm Ballade.  BTW, if your rendition of the First Ballade was 'standard' tempo and played cleanly then you will have no trouble with either of the 2 Scherzos I mentioned. 

Pick up a couple of nocturnes and see which you like.  I would not bother with just one Prelude.  If you go there you should probably learn at least 3. 

For a very beautiful shorter piece, Opus 10, 3 is simply gorgeous as a stand alone piece (not just an etude, per se).