Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: First time playing at a piano competition. Advice anyone?  (Read 4502 times)

Offline emmasommerv

• PS Silver Member
I've been playing the piano for about 12 years now, but have quite little experience performing classical music at formal recitals. I've just finished a degree in music, but it was composition based, not performance based, although I did have a final year recital where I played pieces by Rachmaninoff, Debussy, and Prokofiev in a 25 minute recital (all from memory).

I'm planning on doing the LCTL piano performance diploma in June (45-minute recital from memory), so I'm looking to get some more performance experience to prepare me for it. I've entered into a piano competition (I'm from Ireland so I don't think anyone here would know of it..) where I'm going to play the first and third movements of Bach's C minor Partita, Rachmaninoff's Prelude in G-sharp minor, and another piece by an Italian composer, Esposito (the whole thing should last about 15-20 minutes, and I plan to play from memory). I have another month to prepare for it, and I know I'll be able to play them all to a high standard by then, but I'm worried I'll get nervous on the day and mess up. I think a lot of the other adult performers will be quite experienced, so I really want to prepare myself to play well even if my nerves take over a bit. I'm just wondering if anyone here has any advice, or if anyone who's been in a similar situation would like to share their experience?