Piano Forum

Poems of Ecstasy – Scriabin’s Complete Piano Works Now on Piano Street
The great early 20th-century composer Alexander Scriabin left us 74 published opuses, and several unpublished manuscripts, mainly from his teenage years – when he would never go to bed without first putting a copy of Chopin’s music under his pillow. All of these scores (220 pieces in total) can now be found on Piano Street’s Scriabin page. Read more >>

Topic: Learning perfect pitch?  (Read 2940 times)

Offline recnepspencer

Learning perfect pitch?
on: February 21, 2016, 03:17:54 AM
How should I go about learning perfect pitch? (Or at least relative pitch) I have absolutely no idea, but I'm an advanced pianist who would like to compose so it could be quite useful.
Recently learned:
Beethoven- sonata 32, op111, I
Chopin- sonata 2, scherzo
Liszt-Etude 4, S.136
Rachmaninoff-Prelude C Sharp Minor
Learning:
Liszt-Transcendeal Etude 2
Chopin-Etude op25 no 11

Online brogers70

• PS Silver Member
Re: Learning perfect pitch?
Reply #1 on: February 21, 2016, 12:27:59 PM
Relative pitch just means that you can recognize intervals, and sing them on demand. Then once you are given a single note and told what it is, you can find any other note. Here is a site that has a good set of ear training exercises.

https://www.teoria.com/

Once you are a bit comfortable with that, the best way to learn relative pitch, I think, is to join a choir that does a lot of sight singing. I learned when I was young by singing in a church that had no organist, so the choir sight read the hymns in four part harmony. That sort of thing helps a lot.