Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Sheet music and alternatives.  (Read 2487 times)

Offline gregzyme3

Sheet music and alternatives.
on: September 03, 2016, 01:11:04 AM
Just to say, I have little to no experience with piano. The tiny amount I've played was done during school in music class.

Anyway, my question: Do I need to learn to read music or is there an alternative.
I play guitar and I use tabs, and was wondering if there is something like that for piano. I mean music with the actual key letters on them. I've used them in school, but I can only find it for basic music, which is fine for me when I start, but I want to eventually be able to play music that I like. I don't intend on ever using my piano for anything other than casual playing.

Offline chopinlover01

• PS Silver Member
Re: Sheet music and alternatives.
Reply #1 on: September 03, 2016, 06:19:50 AM
Not really.
Even if you're just a casual player, sheet music is really the best way to go. Of course, you could learn whatever by ear (which is probably the next best option, since you'll be developing aural harmony skills), but in terms of speed of learning whatever strikes the mood, sheet music will be the best way to go once you invest the time to learn how to read. You can also write your own arrangements of songs/pieces, too.

Offline quantum

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: September 03, 2016, 09:39:37 AM
Would you learn to speak a new language without learning how to read and write it?  Sure, you just want to do some traveling and have basic conversation with the locals.  How will that help you to read street signs, directions, navigate, order food from a menu, etc.?