Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: Need some advice  (Read 1182 times)

Offline piulento

Need some advice
on: October 13, 2016, 06:16:43 PM
Hi there, I really need some advice and don't know anyone else who might understand my situation. Sorry if this is a bit long, but it's a very complex situation that really messed up my life recently. There's a TL;DR at the end if you don't want to go into details.

So in case some of you don't know, I'm a soldier. I'm 21 and live with my family, and my older sister is a university student that comes back home from uni almost every weekend (during the week she lives in an apartment next to where she studies).
I usually don't really get to play during the week, so when I'm home on the weekends I try to practice as much as I can. Even though I can't play regularly, piano is still a huge part of my life, and it's sort of the only thing I like to do when I'm home, and I really look forward to it.
The thing is, my playing kind of annoys my family. They're mostly not music enthusiasts, and they don't like the noise. If it were up to me, I'd play all day long when I'm home, but I know it can make the upset if I play too much, so I try to be considerate. In order not to interrupt them too much, I usually play sometime from 10 AM to 1:30 PM, and from 5 PM to 7:30 PM. I don't play the complete time (again, in order to be considerate), usually I play 2-2.5 hours a day. Like I said, because I mostly get to play during the weekend, this means I only get to play a very limited time each week. It makes it very hard to progress, but because piano is the only hobby I have in my life outside the army, I treasure these few hours each week.