Piano Forum

Enfant Terrible or Childishly Innocent? – Prokofiev’s Complete Piano Works Now on Piano Street
In our ongoing quest to provide you with a complete library of classical piano sheet music, the works of Sergey Prokofiev have been our most recent focus. As one of the most distinctive and original musical voices from the first half of the 20th century, Prokofiev has an obvious spot on the list of top piano composers. Welcome to the intense, humorous, and lyrical universe of his complete Sonatas, Concertos, character pieces, and transcriptions! Read more >>

Topic: Please help me decide on competition program!  (Read 1710 times)

Offline marijn1999

Please help me decide on competition program!
on: October 23, 2016, 10:30:10 PM
Hi guys,

So there is this competition coming up in about four months (the first rounds are on 17, 18 and 19 February 2017). I signed up for it because I've never done it before and haven't given a concert for two years now. Anyway, I thought it would be good for my devolopment to experience the stage once again.

Now, the repertoire/program requirements are very simple. You will be put into a category from 13-15, 16-18 and 19-20 years, you can basically play whatever you want as long as you don't exceed the ten minute mark too much.

So I found out (via the competition's YouTube channel that Bach has not been played very often and if played, it wasn't in the finals. So I decided to do something by Bach, also because he's my favorite composer. Next got that I think Brahms fits very well as a second piece (not all his work, but some pieces). It will be music that I have never played or practiced before. Also, I the pieces are a bit above my level, however I know them very well.

These are the combinations I was thinking of:

• Bach: Prelude and Fugue No. 20 in A minor, BWV 865 (WTC I) & Brahms: Ballade in G minor, Op. 118/3