Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Wrist, forearm, and shoulder tension on right arm  (Read 3395 times)

Offline yechanee

• PS Silver Member
Wrist, forearm, and shoulder tension on right arm
on: March 16, 2017, 04:06:22 AM
Hey guys! Look time lurker, first time poster :)

I'm a 17 year old pianist who has been playing for around 10 years.

Three days ago, I was speeding up the presto con fuoco (ending) section of Chopin's Ballade #1. I made a mistake of jumping too fast on the metronome - to the point where I neglected any kind of pain or discomfort.

Though my left arm seems to be fine, the next morning I noticed a substantial stiffness to my wrist/forearm area. Being cautious, I only practiced for 10 minutes to see if I can play or not. I decided not to play for the next couple of days and have alerted my teacher about the issue.

I noticed later on in the day both my shoulders have some kind of tension to them as well. I've looked around in the forums but I desperately want to get help from this forum.

The stiffness is still there - I feel like relaxing is a bit impossible as of now. Do you guys have any suggestions towards what I should do now/in the future?

Offline louispodesta

Re: Wrist, forearm, and shoulder tension on right arm
Reply #1 on: March 24, 2017, 11:42:08 PM
Hey guys! Look time lurker, first time poster :)

I'm a 17 year old pianist who has been playing for around 10 years.

Three days ago, I was speeding up the presto con fuoco (ending) section of Chopin's Ballade #1. I made a mistake of jumping too fast on the metronome - to the point where I neglected any kind of pain or discomfort.