Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: Recital Program Help!  (Read 2175 times)

Offline ianm

Recital Program Help!
on: August 18, 2017, 11:51:25 PM
Hi there everyone! I have a recital for my degree coming up next April (a ways away) and am now trying to decide on rep. It needs to be around an hour's worth of music, and I have basically solidified the following:

Scarlatti - Sonatas in A major Kp. 24 & 208
Mozart - Concerto in B-flat major K. 595
Chopin - Ballade no. 2, op. 38

Me and my professor decided on these before I left for the summer as she felt that they adequately filled some of the gaps that I had been missing in my repertoire list, however she gave me complete freedom for the last 10-15 minutes of recital time. Based on what I have here, I am thinking I should probably play something post-1900 to balance the recital but I have NO idea what to play, I could go post-romantic, impressionistic, 20th century, or even 21st century. I don't dislike modern music (unlike half of this forum, it seems :P ), and think that would be a nice option, but I am open to suggestions that y'all would think would balance this program out.

Thanks,

Ian.

Offline vaniii

Re: Recital Program Help!
Reply #1 on: August 19, 2017, 07:20:57 AM
Hi there everyone! I have a recital for my degree coming up next April (a ways away) and am now trying to decide on rep. It needs to be around an hour's worth of music, and I have basically solidified the following:

Scarlatti - Sonatas in A major Kp. 24 & 208
Mozart - Concerto in B-flat major K. 595
Chopin - Ballade no. 2, op. 38