Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: fundemental of piano pratice  (Read 2312 times)

Offline bee1234

fundemental of piano pratice
on: September 10, 2017, 03:11:51 AM
Hello I am a self study piano student that i have just start fundamentals of piano practice, I am so sorry to say because its my first time to read this type of piano book not sure actually what is the book about, i m not sure have someone read this book can share and discuss with me what is it about thanks so much!!!!!!

Offline klavieronin

• PS Silver Member
Re: fundemental of piano pratice
Reply #1 on: September 10, 2017, 05:21:24 AM
I'm sure everyone will have their own opinion but I honestly think there are better books to read. I haven't read all of "Fundamentals of piano practice" but I've read enough to know there are more helpful books out there. For example Joseph Lhevinne's "Basic Principles in Pianoforte Playing" https://www.amazon.com/Basic-Principles-Pianoforte-Playing-Dover/dp/0486228207

Offline dogperson

Reply #2 on: September 10, 2017, 08:13:58 AM
 I agree about there being better books 

Are you looking for something about practicing the piano?
I would recommend Graham Fitch...he also has many  instructional videos on YouTube which are excellent
https://www.practisingthepiano.com

If you were looking for a book on piano technique,  look at the work of Neil stannard

Offline adodd81802

• PS Silver Member
Reply #3 on: September 11, 2017, 04:18:15 PM