Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Conservatory Auditions  (Read 3114 times)

Offline iamazombie911

Conservatory Auditions
on: March 09, 2018, 07:05:05 PM
Hi y'all,
I'm a freshman physics major in uni right now, but I've had a change of heart and want to audition for a conservatory next year. I missed the audition cycle this year, so I would audition next year, meaning I still have a lot of time to learn different pieces, but this is what I'm currently thinking for my audition repertoire:
Baroque:
-Bach WTC G minor Book 2 (not learned yet)
Classical Sonata:
-Haydn C major Hob 50
Substantial Romantic Work:
-Chopin Sonata No. 3
20/21st Century:
-Gaspard de la Nuit
Virtuosic Etude: (Couple choices here, choose one or two)
-Chopin Op. 10 No. 4
-Godowsky-Chopin Op. 10 No. 4 (difficult to maintain)
-Liszt Transcendental Etude No. 1 (this would be the easiest)
-Rachmaninoff Op. 39 No. 1 (not learned yet)
Lyrical:
-Chopin Nocturne Op. 15 no. 1

I know it's hard to say anything substantial about it without hearing recordings, but most of them wouldn't be current recordings (I'm bringing back a lot of these pieces from years ago... herehttps://youtu.be/cFGpaJ-hANE is a WIP recording of the Godowsky from a couple months ago that I posted here... and herehttps://youtu.be/E0S-cfjevk8 is mvt 1 of chopin from some time ago), so I don't think it would accurately represent my abilities. I'd still love to hear any comments, ideas you might have on repertoire selection (i.e. Maybe it's too technique heavy? Is that bad? Is it well balanced? etc.)