Piano Forum

Enfant Terrible or Childishly Innocent? – Prokofiev’s Complete Piano Works Now on Piano Street
In our ongoing quest to provide you with a complete library of classical piano sheet music, the works of Sergey Prokofiev have been our most recent focus. As one of the most distinctive and original musical voices from the first half of the 20th century, Prokofiev has an obvious spot on the list of top piano composers. Welcome to the intense, humorous, and lyrical universe of his complete Sonatas, Concertos, character pieces, and transcriptions! Read more >>

Topic: Fantaisie Impromptu attempt - self-taught  (Read 4290 times)

Offline ranjit

• PS Silver Member
Fantaisie Impromptu attempt - self-taught
on: December 08, 2020, 08:18:24 PM
I apologize in advance for the somewhat click-baity title. That said, this is one of the pieces I've always wanted to play, and I was never quite sure if I would reach a point where I would actually be able to play it. I'm pretty excited that I'm finally at a point where it seems to fall under my hands naturally enough. And, I'm not going to lie, I'm secretly proud of doing something a lot of people online have point-blank told me is impossible!

I felt like learning it a couple of weeks ago, and here is my progress so far (I could play the polyrhythm already when I started as I had taught myself how to play the first two bars or so in the past). Especially since I have not had the guidance of a teacher whatsoever while learning this, I would greatly appreciate any kind of technical or interpretive advice! :) In fact, the reason I'm posting this unfinished is so that I can get a sense of whether I'm moving in the right direction. Thank you!

&feature=youtu.be

Offline thirtytwo2020

Re: Fantaisie Impromptu attempt - self-taught
Reply #1 on: December 09, 2020, 01:01:14 PM
Not bad! You're right to be proud and excited!