Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Practicing "Stride" Leaps  (Read 1538 times)

Offline donovan8892

Practicing "Stride" Leaps
on: December 17, 2020, 04:13:53 PM
I am primarily a classical pianist, but I have been trying to imrpove in other genres such as stride. I have always struggled with left-hand leaps. I once played Chopin Etude Op. 25 No. 9 thinking it would help my left hand technique. I do feel as though it helped me, but not as much as I would have liked. Any tips on practicing large left hand leaps? Any specific books that might be of help?

Thank you all!
Donovan

Offline perfect_pitch

• PS Silver Member
Re: Practicing "Stride" Leaps
Reply #1 on: December 18, 2020, 01:48:19 AM
I had a piece that had constant Left hand leaps, check out 8:43 on the video.

The key for me was to do long-shorts and short-longs. What I mean by that is if you have quaver vamping (similar to stride I believe); you do dotted quaver and semiquaver (slowly) rhythms to get the hand used to going up to the chord by giving it more time to prepare, then you do the opposite where you do semiquaver and dotted quaver pairs to help your hand prepare going down to the bass note.

I spent hours doing that, and that's how I managed to nail that passage above.

Offline timothy42b

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: December 18, 2020, 02:39:32 PM
Accurate left hand leaps without looking? 

Maybe some advice from the juggling world.  There's a process they use.