Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: Chopin Etude's in 6 months  (Read 1273 times)

Offline ed24dyt

• PS Silver Member
Chopin Etude's in 6 months
on: March 09, 2021, 02:58:58 AM
Hi, I am a piano student and about 8-9 months into piano. I have a professional teacher whos been playing for over 25 years, and i wonder if i am ready to tackle chopins etudes. Preferably 25/11, 25/5, or 10/4 but any of them are fine. I am currently on some Tchaikovsky and Mozart pieces and I practice 2-3 hours daily and 5-10 on weekends.

Offline dogperson

Re: Chopin Etude's in 6 months
Reply #1 on: March 09, 2021, 05:03:31 AM
Since you have a professional teacher, you should  ask your professional  teacher who not only has heard you play but understands your meaningless reference to ‘playing some Tchaikovsky and Mozart pieces’.

Offline ranjit

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: March 09, 2021, 05:28:06 AM
"Some Mozart pieces" to some of the most challenging Chopin etudes (op 25 no 11 for instance) is crazy. I would say you're almost certainly not ready, but there's no harm in asking your teacher, and s/he could give you some suggestions on easier pieces which could lead up to that goal.

Offline nw746

• PS Silver Member
Reply #3 on: March 09, 2021, 06:32:24 AM