Piano Forum

“Piano Dreams” - Exploring the Chinese Piano Explosion
The motivations for learning the piano are diverse, ranging from personal enjoyment to cultural appreciation and professional aspirations. While some see it as a way to connect with cultural heritage, others pursue it as a path to fame and fortune. In the movie “Piano Dreams” director Gary Lennon documents the struggles and sacrifices of three wannabe piano stars in modern China. Read more >>

Topic: Recognize chords in the sheet music  (Read 1999 times)

Offline itom_6

• PS Silver Member
Recognize chords in the sheet music
on: July 17, 2021, 11:54:36 AM
Hi, I'm a beginner who is playing stuff like clementi sonatinas or schumann op 68. Im studying a lot of music theory but i cant still recognize  every chord in the sheet ( maybe some cadences) so, when you were around my level of playing, could you recognize chords in music? Should i recognize them? Btw im studying a  lot of 4 part writing so for me is much easier analysing music like bach chorales or some modern hymns but when i try to analyse some different kind of music I recognize just some progressions.

Offline lelle

• PS Gold Member
Re: Recognize chords in the sheet music
Reply #1 on: July 17, 2021, 11:23:34 PM
Learning to recognize chords takes some time. It varies how much theory you know at an early stage, it depends on what you are taught! I know people who studied music at a high level but did not understand much theory (to the detriment of their playing, in my opinion). Keep studying and be patient and youll get better!

Are there any particular chords or pieces that come to mind that you are struggling with?

Offline jimf12

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: July 19, 2021, 05:58:13 PM
To first answer your questions..

As a beginner could I recognize chords in music?   
A:  I probably could, but did I?   It was a long time ago, but I'm pretty sure the answer is no I did not.    I played the notes.   

Should you recognize them?