Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: From Clair de Lune to Revolutionary Etude?  (Read 1654 times)

Offline deltoro

• PS Silver Member
From Clair de Lune to Revolutionary Etude?
on: April 21, 2022, 11:38:07 PM
Hey everyone, I wanted to ask if I could get some tips. I'm an amateur, I have played for a while, I can play Clair de Lune pretty good now. I have not mastered it, but it's allright. I wonder how I get to the Revolutionary Etude from here? I would really like to play it. What is the fastest track to get to that level? Should I just start working on it?

Offline ranjit

• PS Silver Member
Re: From Clair de Lune to Revolutionary Etude?
Reply #1 on: April 21, 2022, 11:46:40 PM
Well, in short, and my apologies if this seems too curt, you will likely need to develop your basic technical facility from scratch in order to progress to that level, which means working on stuff like scales, arpeggios and easy pieces until you can play them utterly confident without any obvious inefficiencies in movement, eventually up to a relatively fast tempo. You will need to develop certain concepts of phrasing and articulation until you can execute them very well with barely any conscious thought.

Offline lelle

• PS Gold Member
Reply #2 on: April 22, 2022, 10:49:47 AM
I think ideally you'd work on some easier music first. There are a lot of advanced technical problems in the Revolutionary Etude and it's good to have experience tackling each of them separately until the Revolutionary Etude doesn't seem daunting but rather a natural next step for you to play.

Offline bwl_13

• PS Silver Member
Reply #3 on: April 22, 2022, 04:06:56 PM