Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: Chopin, Partimento and "Imagining the sound"  (Read 1370 times)

Offline jlmap

• PS Silver Member
Chopin, Partimento and "Imagining the sound"
on: May 06, 2022, 06:47:06 PM
I'm an amateur trying to learn music theory and ear training by myself, and I've been struggling with Ijzerman's book "Harmony, Counterpoint, Partimento" for some time. I tried to learn it one year ago, gave up, and now I'm trying again. Recently I began to identify some schemes in what I play. I can see that they are quite clear in the music of Mozart and Beethoven. But, when they occur in the music of Chopin, they frequently deceive the listener. The schemes are clearly implied, but some notes are simply missing, usually substituted by a chromatic passing tone to the next tone of the scheme. If you are familiarized with the scheme, you can almost hear the missing note! For example, in Chopin's first Ballade, in G minor (attachment 1), there is a clear example of this scheme of Ijzerman's book (attachment 2), but the encircled blue note is not what is expected. Instead of approaching the third degree of the scale from the fourth degree, Chopins surprises us by doing this from the sharp second degree. But you can almost hear the fourth degree! Another example occurs in the second movement of Chopin's Bb minor sonata (attachment 3), that follows this other scheme (attachment 4), but with many missing notes, replaced by chromatic passing tones, marked with a blue circle. Again, if you are familiarized with the scheme, you "hear" the missing notes!