Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: Does my Piano Teacher hate me?  (Read 1467 times)

Offline mrrobot

• PS Silver Member
Does my Piano Teacher hate me?
on: May 27, 2022, 05:28:06 PM
Greetings.  I started learning the piano mid March this year.  I'm in the second book of a method series for total beginners.  I met with a private instructor once a week for 45 minutes until last week, because he assigned a Czerny Etude from opus 299 so I upped my appointment to one hour.  I can play the first 12 measures at 50 bpm, and then it goes to hell, and I can barely play it. 

Is my piano teacher trying to push me away with this?  Do Piano teachers behave like this?  Am I a bad student?

I practice at least 2 hours a day, 6 days a week.

Thanks for any input.

Offline anacrusis

• PS Silver Member
Re: Does my Piano Teacher hate me?
Reply #1 on: May 27, 2022, 11:36:12 PM
I don't think your teacher hates you, and I don't think you are a bad student. It sounds like the music feels too challenging for you at this time, which sucks the fun out of playing. This is a mistake teachers sometimes make, they give you something that is too challenging, often with the best of intentions, but it's simply not working for you. You're not supposed to play pieces that are too hard for you at this time, that's why they are labeled "too hard". Have you discussed your feelings about this piece with your teacher?

Offline lostinidlewonder

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: May 28, 2022, 12:23:24 AM