Piano Forum

Enfant Terrible or Childishly Innocent? – Prokofiev’s Complete Piano Works Now on Piano Street
In our ongoing quest to provide you with a complete library of classical piano sheet music, the works of Sergey Prokofiev have been our most recent focus. As one of the most distinctive and original musical voices from the first half of the 20th century, Prokofiev has an obvious spot on the list of top piano composers. Welcome to the intense, humorous, and lyrical universe of his complete Sonatas, Concertos, character pieces, and transcriptions! Read more >>

Topic: Starting to teach  (Read 3624 times)

Offline Anton

• PS Silver Member
Starting to teach
on: March 19, 2005, 08:56:53 PM
Im a second year music student and from our second year we are required to teach a beginner.Altough they give us a bit of guidance im stil very clueless on this whole teahcing thing. What i would like to know is witch is the best way to teach a beginner.The middle c method or the multiple key aproach.
I feel thet the middle c method like the John Tompson books are the easiest to use but my student gets bored with it and after 2 or three months the child can omly play 5 notes in each hand. The only reason im not to fond of the multiple key aproach like the Bastienne books is cause i find them a bit confusing and im not sure if a 7 year old would be able to master it. But great thing about the bastiene books are that the child learns all the notes of the piano quicly and learns to play in diffrent keys and also learns to transpose at a early age .
What material do you use .is it better to use the best of both worlds.
I only started piano at 14 so i never used beginner books like that so i cant compare these methods and books to anything.
What do u suggest
kromtoon

Offline robert

• PS Silver Member
Re: Starting to teach
Reply #1 on: March 21, 2005, 03:18:58 PM