Piano Forum

Lucas Debargue - A Matter of Life or Death
Pianist Lucas Debargue recently recorded the complete piano works of Gabriel Fauré on the Opus 102, a very special grand piano by Stephen Paulello. Eric Schoones from the German/Dutch magazine PIANIST had a conversation with him. Read more >>

Topic: LISZT: Showoff or Genius?  (Read 10434 times)

Offline cziffra

• PS Silver Member
LISZT: Showoff or Genius?
on: April 30, 2003, 11:40:46 AM
i was playing a Liszt Cd to a non-pianist the eother day and at the end of the song he said "gee that would have been nicer if it had a melody.  all i heard were scales.  Very impressive scales, but scales nonetheless."

i listened to it again and now i'm not so sure if liszt is quite the genius i thought- a lot of his stuff is really just piano pyrotechnics.  

what do you guys think?
NB: i'll still keep listening to it because as a pianist i can not help but listen in captivated awe.  but for a non-pianist, is there any motivation to listen?
What it all comes down to is that one does not play the piano with one’s fingers; one plays the piano with one’s mind.-  Glenn Gould

Offline frederic

• PS Silver Member
Re: LISZT: Showoff or Genius?
Reply #1 on: April 30, 2003, 12:37:13 PM
read the topic i started called Liszt's music. Its here in repertoire board. its closely related to what you asked.
"The concert is me" - Franz Liszt

Offline Jezzica

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: May 01, 2003, 07:17:09 AM
I think Liszt was a bit of a showoff in a way, even though he did compose great works.
Grissom: "In religion? I believe in God, in science, in Sunday supper. I don't believe in rules that tell me how I should live."
-CSI: ALTER BOYS

Offline pskim

• PS Silver Member
Reply #3 on: May 01, 2003, 08:35:03 AM