Piano Forum

Lucas Debargue - A Matter of Life or Death
Pianist Lucas Debargue recently recorded the complete piano works of Gabriel Fauré on the Opus 102, a very special grand piano by Stephen Paulello. Eric Schoones from the German/Dutch magazine PIANIST had a conversation with him. Read more >>

Topic: Chopin etude op10 no4  (Read 2038 times)

Offline Sekoul

• PS Silver Member
Chopin etude op10 no4
on: April 10, 2005, 02:15:26 PM
I recently started learning this piece, and although i dont feel like im having any real trouble with it, my teacher says i jsut cant get it. Apparentlyl, i connect things that should not be connected. She says to divide EVERYTHING into tiny little groups of notes rather than connecting everything and making the whole piece a big flow of notes. I knew that this was a way to learn pieces, but it bothers me musically and she says its actually the correct way to play it. any thoughts on this?

Offline thierry13

• PS Silver Member
Re: Chopin etude op10 no24
Reply #1 on: April 10, 2005, 02:49:37 PM
Well, it's great you imagine more etudes than there are, but in op.10 there are only 12 etudes  ;D If you are speaking about the "ocean" etude, it's op.25 no.12 (the 24th, but not in op.10). Confirm that you are talking about this one and I could give you some advice.

Offline Sekoul

• PS Silver Member
Re: Chopin etude op10 no4
Reply #2 on: April 10, 2005, 02:51:41 PM
haha it was a typo, im sorry.... its the op10 no4

Offline thierry13

• PS Silver Member
Reply #3 on: April 10, 2005, 03:39:02 PM