Piano Forum

Lucas Debargue - A Matter of Life or Death
Pianist Lucas Debargue recently recorded the complete piano works of Gabriel Fauré on the Opus 102, a very special grand piano by Stephen Paulello. Eric Schoones from the German/Dutch magazine PIANIST had a conversation with him. Read more >>

Topic: ABRSM diplomas (after grade 8)  (Read 17039 times)

Offline Jacey1973

• PS Silver Member
ABRSM diplomas (after grade 8)
on: May 21, 2005, 08:42:37 PM
I'm thinking about doing my diploma next year, mainly just to have something to aim for, so i keep progressing.

However the level of pieces in the (1st) diploma syllabus i studied a couple of years ago and i am currently performing pieces from the next diploma (its called L-something) so the first diploma might not be that challenging for me.

So i was wondering are these diplomas really worth doing? Do they actually count for anything? I want to do a masters in piano performance in a couple of years (i'm about to finish my undergraduate degree in music) so would it be worth doing them? The main problem i have with them is the cost - i can't believe the final diploma (or 3rd F-something!) costs £500 just for someone to listen to you for an hour - when you could just play them and progress anyway without taking the exam (thats if i had something to aim for like a concert).

Have any advanced pianists taken these diplomas? Let me know what you think of them.
"Mozart makes you believe in God - it cannot be by chance that such a phenomenon arrives into this world and then passes after 36 yrs, leaving behind such an unbounded no. of unparalled masterpieces"

Offline possom46

• PS Silver Member
Re: ABRSM diplomas (after grade 8)
Reply #1 on: May 21, 2005, 09:34:14 PM