Piano Street's Classical Piano News

- your guide to the classical piano world.

Blog home > Single post view

Argerich in Nobel Prize Concert 2009

Nobel Media, in association with the Stockholm Concert Hall, present this year’s Nobel Prize Concert ­ an event of world class stature. The concert took place on 8 December as part of the official Nobel Week programme of activities.

Martha Argerich, headstrong, charismatic and technically brilliant pianist, was this year¹s soloist at the Nobel Prize Concert. Yuri Temirkanov, Music Director and Principal Conductor for the Saint Petersburg Philharmoni was
leading the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra. The programme comprised Ravel’s Piano Concerto in G major and Prokoviev’s Suite from Romeo and Juliet.

Martha Argerich was born in Buenos Aires in 1941, and had her performing debut at the tender age of eight. Her breakthrough came in 1965, when she won the prestigious Chopin Competition in Warsaw. She has worked with most of the world¹s leading conductors, and her repertoire includes Bach, Schumann, Liszt, Debussy, Ravel, Bartók and Prokoviev.

Ms Argerich is passionate about supporting young talent. The year 1999 saw the first International Martha Argerich Piano Contest in Buenos Aires, a competition that she founded and of which she is now the chief judge. She has also instituted the Martha Argerich Music Festival in Japan, with concerts and masterclasses.
The Nobel Prize Concert is held to honour the year¹s Nobel Laureates, who attend with their respective parties. Also present are members of the Swedish Royal Family and guests of the Nobel Foundation.

Link: Martha Argerich, Interview in Stockholm for the Nobel Prize Concert 2009

Link: Watch the complete Nobel Prize Concert, VOD by mecici.tv


  1. george Says:

    She is as vital as 30 years ago,and the performance is to my heart.

  2. Rodolfo Says:

    She is incredible !! Fantastic !!

  3. yaniv Says:

    i love you martha

  4. Ania Says:

    Brava! Your music speaks to the souls of millions of fans.
    Thank you-thank you.

  5. Paulo Says:

    Grandiosa… La Maestra para siempre… Sublime


  6. Louis Says:

    Philippe Entremont’s teacher, Marguerete Long, to whom the Ravel Concerto is dedicated, permiered the work. He cautions that the major flaw in most playings of this piece is that people overplay it by playing it too fast. One can’t march and run at the same time. Why an artist such as Argerich, who plays this piece at light-speed, feels that she has to tamper with the tempo in order to give it her own voice, is beyond reason. French music is visual; it takes time to paint a picture.

  7. anastasija Says:

    she is one of the great pianists in the world
    !!! i love her !!! respect !!!

Leave a comment


Privacy Policy | FAQ | Contact