Piano Forum

A Massive Glimpse Into Ligeti’s Pianistic Universe
Performing Ligeti’s complete Etudes is a challenge for any pianist. Young pianist Han Chen has received both attention and glowing reviews for his recording of the entire set for Naxos. We had the opportunity to speak with the pianist after his impressive recital at the Piano Experience in Cremona last fall. Read more >>

Topic: Please help with Debussy's Flaxen Hair  (Read 21086 times)

Offline leucippus

• PS Silver Member
Please help with Debussy's Flaxen Hair
on: August 31, 2006, 04:43:10 AM
I've decided to start learning Debussy's prelude # 8 from his book I.

I guess this is more popularly known as "La fille aux cheveux de lin"  or "The girl with flaxen hair".

I'm a raw beginner and I'm not familiar with music theory, but I want to try to analyze this piece a little bit before starting in on it.  Especially since it has 6 flats which I'm not used to.  In fact, I seldom play in keys with more than two sharps or flats.

So my first idea was to learn the scale for this key.  But what key is it?  Gb major, or Eb minor?

Which scale(s) should I practice? Gb major, Eb minor (melodic), Eb minor (harmonic)?

How do you analyze and approach a piece when you're a complete klutz at music theory like me?

I do have every intention of leaning and studying music theory this winter, but what can anyone suggest for right now, other than to forget about trying to learn this piece all together.  ;D

Offline kriskicksass

• PS Silver Member
Re: Please help with Debussy's Flaxen Hair
Reply #1 on: August 31, 2006, 04:54:55 AM
This piece is in G-flat Major, but with some serious pentatonic inflections. Analyzing Debussy's music is neither for the beginner not the faint of heart. He uses so many colorful harmonies, but many of them fall out of major/minor tonality, venturing into church modes, modes of limited transposition, and beyond.