Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: slow fingers  (Read 16796 times)

Offline musical_fingers

• PS Silver Member
slow fingers
on: October 26, 2004, 12:46:50 AM
i have been playing for 12 years done my exams and, i do well, play big pieces, practice scales half an hour every day, my piano has stiff keys so my fingers get a good workout, but the biggest problem is my fingers just dont move, how can i strengthen my fingers? is it the way i practice my scales? do i practice them wrong? my teacher wont let me do any etudes until i can play my scales properly  :-[
HELP! :o :-\ 
ness :-)

Offline Antnee

• PS Silver Member
Re: slow fingers
Reply #1 on: October 26, 2004, 01:34:49 AM
Your fingers don't move? Huh?

I take it you are asking for advice on strenghtening your hands and fingers.

Look at this thread and consider Dohnanyi exercises. They are amazing for finger independence and strengthening of the hands.

https://www.pianoforum.net/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.cgi?board=perf;action=display;num=1083972817;start=3

As for scales...

Scales dont help with hand strength at all. Scales are extremely critical for two things. Coordination. By doing scales hands together you develop coordination of the hands since they both perform different movements while playing the same thing at the same time. Also they are critical for understanding music in general. If you know what your scales and chords look like on the keyboard like the back of your hand, as well aas on paper you can easily pick apart thousands of compositions with ease since they all contain the scales you study. It is also critical in order to improvise, compose and sight read.