Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: Can I attempt a Rachmaninoff concert or I am crazy?  (Read 2106 times)

Offline rovis77

• PS Silver Member
Can I attempt a Rachmaninoff concert or I am crazy?
on: March 05, 2016, 03:09:23 PM
Hi, I have been playing for 9 years and I have played many pieces, I can play 5 Chopin etudes, the op 10 1, op 10 12, op 25 12, op 25 1 and op 25 2 with success. Can I attempt to play the first movement of Rachmaninoff´s second or first piano concert or I am crazy?. thanks

Offline piulento

Re: Can I attempt a Rachmaninoff concert or I am crazy?
Reply #1 on: March 05, 2016, 06:24:20 PM
I'd suggest you to wait. Better to wait until you're 100% ready than to make Rachmaninoff sound bad...
If you really wanna do it, you should first study a lot of his "simpler" works (none of his works are simple, but I guess you know what I mean). I think the preludes are a good start.
Once you can play a lot of them, and well, you should consider taking it to the next level.
But hey, that's just my opinion.
Good luck!

Offline marijn1999

Reply #2 on: March 05, 2016, 06:36:59 PM