Piano Forum

Master Teacher Christopher Elton – Never Ending Impetus
With 50 years at the Royal Academy of Music and an international teaching career, Professor Christopher Elton has gained unique experience in how to coach accomplished artists. In this unique interview for Piano Street, Elton shares his insights and views on the big perspective. Read more >>

Topic: Introducing myself  (Read 2068 times)

Offline lb023

Introducing myself
on: July 03, 2016, 01:56:54 PM
Dear people of this forum,

My name is Laurens, I am a 23 year old law student living in the Netherlands. I have been visiting this forum quite some times, so I decided it was about time to make an account for myself.

A little history:

I come from a family where we are with three brothers. When we were little, our parents wanted us all to play an instrument, or at least try it. My oldest brother chose the guitar, my middle brother the flute, and I chose for the piano.

When I started playing the piano I was around ten years of age. I followed one lesson every week for about three or four years. I absolutely loved hearing people play piano, but I just could not get myself to practice very much, actually, I hated it. At the age of 13 or 14 I decided to quit playing the piano. Due to my lack of practice and not really enjoying the playing, I never got further than some of the Alfred level 3 or 4 books I believe.

When attending middle school, I did not touch the piano for about 5 or 6 years. When I started to study law ,I once visited a recital of a pianist, and I completely fell in love with the instrument again.  Since that very moment, now about three or four years ago, not one day has gone by without thinking,listening,or wanting to play classical music. Actually, at a certain point it got quite obsessive. I bought a lot of old vinyls and cds, visited much recitals and concertos etc etc.