Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: Pianist stamina and difficult recitals  (Read 2624 times)

Offline irrational

• PS Silver Member
Pianist stamina and difficult recitals
on: September 29, 2016, 08:15:44 AM
I am looking forward to a recital by Konstantin Scherbakov in 2 weeks.
But the program made me wonder about the sheer physical stamina required for some performances.

He is playing some really demanding works.
Beethoven OP. 126 bagatelles, Op.35 Eroica Variations and finishing off with Bethoven/Liszt symphony no.3.

Another local pianist is going to perform all 5 Beethoven concertos over 2 concerts in 2 days a week later.

I am still learning, but 6 minutes of presto Haydn wear my arms out. This program is 90 minutes of mentally and physically demanding work.
So I am wondering how professional pianists prepare for something like this. Are the abilities learned as a matter of course over years of training, or do you have to specially focus on gaining the stamina and strength needed for a repertoire like this, both mentally and physically.

Surely you can't just decide to play such a recital. I'd think it takes a very long preparation plan to work towards this. Do you decide at an early age that you'll be a virtuoso pianist and work towards it?

Offline opus10no2

• PS Silver Member
Re: Pianist stamina and difficult recitals
Reply #1 on: September 29, 2016, 10:41:26 AM

The question made this come to mind!
Da SDC Piano Forum :
https://www.dasdc.net/

Offline ahinton

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: September 29, 2016, 11:59:55 AM

The question made this come to mind!