Piano Forum

Topic: University audition-which pieces? And technique?  (Read 3335 times)

Offline _piano_angel

• PS Silver Member
University audition-which pieces? And technique?
on: February 27, 2018, 11:38:29 AM
Hello I'm an 18 year old student, who has been playing piano for around 15-16 years, now I would like to apply to a university or music conservatory (in europe, so germany or vienna most likely, because I live in germany) with piano as major in maybe 1,5-2 years when I have finished school. I have already discussed some of the pieces I want to play with my teacher , so right now I have:
Chopin ballade no.1 g minor as romantic piece
Chopin etude op.10 no.4 as etude
Bach WTC 1 prelude and fuge No.22 in b flat minor BWV 867

But I still need a classic sonata and a modern piece . For the classic sonata my teacher recommended the Beethoven sonata no.7 (op.10 no.3) or the op.57 (Appassionata) where I had already pretty much learned the third movement , but I also thought about the no.26 (Les adieux) , what sonata do you think would be the best?
For the modern piece my teacher told me to look at Scriabin or Prokofiev . I was thinking about learning either the Scriabin prelude op.11 no.1 or op.11 no.11 or one of the sonatas but I think the preludes might be a bit short and the sonatas too long , so does anyone know pieces that are somewhere in the middle between those?
And lastly I still want to improve my technique before applying , so do you know any exercices that are helpful for that?
If you have read this far thank you and I would really appreciate if you answer  :)
Learning:
Chopin etudes: 10/1, 10/2, 10/4
Messiaen vingt regards No.2
Beethoven sonata op.7
Schumann Abegg variations

Offline visitor

• PS Silver Member
Barvinsky!! Re: University audition-which pieces? And technique?
Reply #1 on: February 27, 2018, 01:28:42 PM