Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: Where to find a concert grand piano to play?  (Read 3640 times)

Offline paxxx17

• PS Silver Member
Where to find a concert grand piano to play?
on: October 05, 2018, 08:10:43 PM
So, I'm not a professional pianist - after I've finished music high school, I've been just playing for my own enjoyment.

I've never played on a concert grand piano, like Steinway D-274, or Yamaha CFX, and it has always been my dream just to try playing on such a piano. Any ideas where I could find them (and of course, where they would let me try)?

Offline visitor

• PS Silver Member
Re: Where to find a concert grand piano to play?
Reply #1 on: October 05, 2018, 11:45:42 PM
piano stores
concert halls
universities /conservatory music facilities and recital halls

Offline indianajo

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: October 06, 2018, 11:42:08 PM
Takes wads of money.
A piano store, you have to look like you've worth $$$$$$.  Drive up in a Bentley or something, wear a suit unlike anything I own.  I've never talked any salesman into anything.  I'm age 68, doesn't help a thing. 
Concert halls, you have to book the hall.  Mid $$$$ in my small city.
Schools, you have to register as a student, and do most of your practice on a *****y upright in a tiny room.  As a graduation present they let you play the grand once in the big hall.