Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: Bach WTC which version?  (Read 1531 times)

Offline hiroica

• PS Silver Member
Bach WTC which version?
on: January 21, 2021, 01:49:40 AM
I’m learning the prelude of bwv 872 (book 2 number 3 C sharp).  My question is this.  I have looked at a couple different versions Czerny and Kroll, but there are different notes in the two.  what is generally accepted as the definitive version for this piece? Is it normal that different versions have different notes?  Sorry I’m new to playing classical piano but I love Bach so much I had to learn :))

Offline ivorycherry

• PS Silver Member
Re: Bach WTC which version?
Reply #1 on: January 21, 2021, 03:09:28 AM
It is very common that different versions have different notes. The Henle edition is probably best for Bach. Don’t take my opinion seriously because im not very experienced but an alternative for Henle for me would be the czerny editon even though his tempo markings are insane(way too fast most of the time IMO).

Hope this helps,
Alex

Offline hiroica

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: January 21, 2021, 06:45:44 AM
It is very common that different versions have different notes. The Henle edition is probably best for Bach. Don’t take my opinion seriously because im not very experienced but an alternative for Henle for me would be the czerny editon even though his tempo markings are insane(way too fast most of the time IMO).

Hope this helps,
Alex

Awesome! Thank you Alex!

Offline nw746

• PS Silver Member