Piano Forum

Master Teacher Christopher Elton – Never Ending Impetus
With 50 years at the Royal Academy of Music and an international teaching career, Professor Christopher Elton has gained unique experience in how to coach accomplished artists. In this unique interview for Piano Street, Elton shares his insights and views on the big perspective. Read more >>

Topic: Favourite Bach Preludes and Fugues?  (Read 6608 times)

Offline ggrant4569

• PS Silver Member
Favourite Bach Preludes and Fugues?
on: January 27, 2021, 10:13:02 PM
Hello. I'm pretty new to learning Bach pieces, and I'm looking at some of his WTC Preludes and Fugues to learn. I've already done his 11th in F Major in WTC 1 (BWV 856), and had a lot of fun with it, but I'm curious about your guys' personal favourites, both to play and to listen to. Also let me know if there's any specific reason for your choices. Thanks in advance for any input.  :)

Offline brogers70

• PS Silver Member
Re: Favourite Bach Preludes and Fugues?
Reply #1 on: January 27, 2021, 11:39:45 PM
My personal favorite is the Eb major Prelude and Fugue from Book I, because, apart from being beautiful and majestic, the prelude contains a triple fugue itself, and the official fugue that follows is light and sweet.

Offline j_tour

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: January 28, 2021, 03:50:30 AM
The WTCI Eb major is certainly one that gets under one's ear, as mentioned above.

As it is, I personally favor some of the simpler ones that are, however, a bit strange.  Well, the WTCI E major fugue is not very strange, but even though it's considered one of the less demanding fugues (there are a few places where it's tricky to make the subject come out), I find it exuberant and clever. 

There are odd fugues that are not especially difficult but that I find delightful, almost in a perverse way.  The WTCI E minor fugue, although brief and simple, with only two voices, I think is hilarious, in a dark, bewitching sort of way.