Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: A good mobile phone for recording playing piano  (Read 771 times)

Offline acomposer

• PS Silver Member
A good mobile phone for recording playing piano
on: March 19, 2021, 12:21:50 PM
Hi,
I have been searching for a mobile phone, that would record my piano playing(only sound) with the best quality. I am an amateur composer(originally piano ex - student of a conservatory) and I would like to record my piano compositions to upload them on youtube. I have profesional recorders but the recordings are fussy with metalic sounds effects. The mobile phone I have been searching for, should cost  350 € at most. What should I buy?
Thanks a lot

Offline quantum

• PS Silver Member
Re: A good mobile phone for recording playing piano
Reply #1 on: March 19, 2021, 03:17:56 PM
Hi and welcome to Pianostreet.

I would recommend going with a portable recorder in your situation.  There are many to choose from.  A good place to start would be:
Zoom H4n
Tascam DR-40X
Roland R-09

Portable recorders, such as the ones above are designed for music recording and have very capable mics and preamps.  You probably won't find a phone in that price range that specifically does music recording well.  These portable recorders will far outlast a smart phone in terms of usage, so you will be spreading the cost of it over many years.